Discussion Forum and Mailing List

The FCA has created online forums to encourage discussion and the exchange of ideas and experiences among funeral consumers. Note that you must be a registered user of the site in order to post to the forum threads. To register, visit our home page and click "create an account" on the lower left-hand corner. There's also a Help section in the forums you can click on below.

For those who want a more detailed discussion with funeral consumer advocates and concerned industry people, try our email-based discussion list. To join the list, email: join-deathcare@hades.listmoms.netNOTE! - you must put the word gazelle in the subject line (this cuts down on spam-bots trying to join the list).

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Embalming

Embalming 10 Jul 2009 08:32 #259

Bear with me. This is my first time on the forum. I just recently purchased a mauseleum crypt in Utah for myself and my wife, and was told that it was a "requirement" that I be embalmed. I have been reading that embalming is normally not required except in one or two states(I don't think Utah is one of them ) and would rather avoid it if possible, maybe for environmental reasons. Is this a case of someone trying to sell me a service that I don't really need, or is this maybe because I will be in an above ground structure?

can anyone shed some light on this issue?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Embalming 10 Jul 2009 11:12 #260

You make the following statement - "... and was told that it was a "requirement" that I be embalmed."

I suggest that you ask the cemetery to state the basis for their embalming requirement.