Funeral Consumers Alliance

 
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

News and Blogs

Ohio

E-mail Print

UPDATE 5/21/08 - Senate Bill 196, a bill to tighten preneed regulation, has made it out of committee. The Funeral Consumers Alliance of Central Ohio supports the bill, but criticizes it for continuing to allow funeral homes to take a 10 percent fee if a customer moves his preneed funeral to a new funeral home. FCACO is also alarmed that no one involved in the legislation could find a single government agency to administer a Consumer Protection Recovery Fund that would help victims of prepaid funeral fraud. Here's their testimony to the Senate Insurance Commerce, and Labor Committee.

To check the full text or present legislative status of bills, here is a link to Ohio's home page.

Senators and contact information (including some e-mail).

House representatives and contact information (including some e-mail).

Last Updated ( Thursday, 22 May 2008 13:58 )
 

New York

E-mail Print

8/8/06 — Assembly Bill A10051 PASSED. The new law will require cemeteries to give customers lists of rules, regulations, and prices, although the cemetery will be allowed to charge customers the actual cost of duplicating the lists.

1/01/2006 — Assembly Bill A10051 would require cemeteries to give consumers General Price Lists of all their goods and services, and their regulations, just like funeral homes must. To view the bill, click here. If you want to support this effort, contact your State Senators and your State Assembly Members . Please be sure to send a copy of your letters of support to the Funeral Consumers Alliance of Long Island and New York City. Email them at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it '; document.write( '' ); document.write( addy_text87924 ); document.write( '<\/a>' ); //--> This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

New Hampshire

E-mail Print

8/8/06 — Effective July 1, 2006, HB 1067 requires crematories to be licensed, requires the state to inspect them at least once every three years, and allows the state to fine law-breaking crematories up to $20,000. The state quickly passed the law — New Hampshire's first crematory regulations — after investigators found a rotting corpse and abandoned ashes at the now-closed Bayview Crematory.

To check the full text and present legislative status of bills, here is a link to New Hampshire's home page.

Senators
and contact information (no individual e-mail; send to clerk).

House representatives
and contact information (including some e-mail).

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 04 December 2007 16:00 )
 

Montana

E-mail Print
2/6/07 — Thanks to pressure from citizens and consumer groups, another funeral directors' association FAILED to outlaw low-cost cremation businesses, and failed to take away families' rights to care for their own dead. Read about it HERE.
 

Missouri

E-mail Print
1/04/06 — After trying to claim the power to prohibit families and religious groups from burying their own dead with interference from a commercial funeral home, the Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors is backing off thanks to pressure from FCA. Read all about it HERE.
 


Page 144 of 151

CAN'T AFFORD THE FUNERAL? We can show you how to bring the bill down significantly. Click here for advice